Why I Prefer Pekin Ducks to Chickens

Our duck, Daisy

Our duck, Daisy

I am the opposite to most on this particular topic (or so I’ve read.) Most people actually prefer to own chickens over Pekin ducks. I have to say, I respectfully disagree. Don’t get me wrong….we have chickens, and they are amazing animals. I love watching them. They are funny and have quite the personality. I still love my ducks and here is why!

1.They are so cute to watch!

They are like a little married couple. They waddle all over the yard together quacking back and forth. They love splashing in their little pool too! Great entertainment!

2.They are great little pest catchers!

Where chickens will scratch up EVERYTHING….ducks don’t. They take care of the plants with weaker root systems and bugs. After your plants get past the baby stage, turn your ducks out in the yard and let them make a meal off of the bugs while you enjoy organic gardening.

3.They lay large eggs.

Chickens lay all sizes of eggs but Pekin ducks lay large eggs. They are great for baking or making large omelets. Duck eggs are actually supposed to be better for you as well.

4.They are very docile creatures.

I’ll say it….some of our chickens (most of them, actually) have attitudes! Our ducks are much friendlier. They are happy to see you. They don’t flog. They just want to see if you are going to feed them and if not, then they will waddle on their way. I appreciate that as we raise Road Island Reds and our rooster (who does a great job as a rooster) can be quite the little bully at times. However, when our girl duck was setting her eggs if you got too close to her the worst they would do is she would hiss at your and fluff up while the boy duck would bob his head at you like, “move on.” I’ll take that over being flogged any day of the week!

5.They are beautiful!  

I know a lot of people say ducks are nasty, but I don’t necessarily agree with that. We let ours roam around our fenced in yard because they tend to my plants for me during the summer. They have a little house with food in it. I place their water under their umbrella. (Yes, my ducks have a shade umbrella in our backyard because it is hot being a southern duck in the summer.) Then their little pool is behind their house. I think separating their food and water makes them a little less messy. I just know I thoroughly enjoy our ducks, and I would love to have more!

I love our Pekin ducks! They are so beautiful and white. They are cute…plain and simple! I’m a duck lady!

I know a lot of people say ducks are nasty, but I don’t necessarily agree with that. We let ours roam around our fenced in yard because they tend to my plants for me during the summer. They have a little house with food in it. I place their water under their umbrella. (Yes, my ducks have a shade umbrella in our backyard because it is hot being a southern duck in the summer.) Then their little pool is behind their house. I think separating their food and water makes them a little less messy. I just know I thoroughly enjoy our ducks, and I would love to have more!

 

 

Leave a Reply

