Why You Need a Bread Machine (and My Favorite Recipe)

This morning I wanted to share a homesteading/ frugal tip that any mom can do! I am a busy mom of three boys, and I don’t always have the time to be as thrifty as I’d like. However, I don’t always have the budget to be as “convenient” as I need some days. One secret I use to keep my budget on track yet still have what I need is a bread machine.

I LOVE homemade bread. It is inexpensive, great for quick lunches, a yummy snack, or great to serve with a quick dinner. However, I don’t always have the time to do it by hand though I love to make bread too! So during my busier seasons of life I use my trusty bread machine.

Why should you invest in a bread machine?

Everyone needs a bread machine for three simple reasons.

1. They are convenient:

You can give your kids bread that you know and control what goes into it without breaking a sweat. You just place your ingredients in the machine, set it, and forget it. Doesn’t get much easier to give your kids a healthy treat, does it?

2. They are frugal:

The most expensive bread machine I have purchased was $60. They are long lasting (at least mine have been) and so I don’t mind spending that kind of money. I use my bread machine quite regularly, so I feel confident in telling you that if you buy one, it will last you! I have three bread machines. One I purchased for $60, one my husband bought from a yard sale page for $10, and one A lady gave me at church. They all work wonderfully! I am able to bake bread for less than 25 cents a loaf. That sure beats  paying a $1.50 or more for the bread at the store.

3. They do more than just bake plain bread:

Bread machines are great little gadgets. They bake all kinds of bread! You can make sweet bread, healthy loaves of bread, and plain old bread, whatever kind of bread you can imagine. They are great for mixing dough as well. I use mine to make my cinnamon roll dough, pizza dough, and dough for my yeast rolls. They also make delicious jam. You place all of the ingredients in the bread machine, set it, forget it, and then can it. It is wonderful and doesn’t get much easier than that!

 

I wanted to share my favorite go-to recipe for bread. It is simple, easy to remember, and my kids love it!

 

White Bread: (Place the ingredients in the bread pan in this order)

 

1 cup of warm water

2 tbsp. of oil (any oil is fine. I use vegetable oil usually)

2 tbsp. of sugar (you could use honey here. As our bees start producing I will probably switch to honey as it will be free at that point.)

1 tsp of salt

3 cups of bread flour

2 ¼ tsp of yeast

Set it on the regular 2-pound loaf setting, and you will have fresh bread in about three and a half hours.

 

Some people worry about fresh bread not lasting as long. I have to say; it should spark your attention that store bread lasts longer than homemade. My first question, when I started thinking outside of the box, was why? How do they make the bread last longer? I got a little concerned at that point. I also learned to either bake my bread as needed or to store it in a zipper bag with celery in the bottom. Also, a good old fashioned bread box works too!

 

My bread machine has been a blessing in my kitchen. My youngest son took the paddle piece out of the first bread machine I had and misplaced it. It hindered my routine until I got it replaced. So trust me when I tell you that if you decide to go this route, you won’t regret it.

***Please head over to my Facebook Page and Like my page! If I can get my page to 100 Likes I am going to do my FIRST GIVEAWAY!!!***

Leave a Reply

