The Right Dirt Makes All the Difference….Now How Do I Get It??

So if you read my last post (you can read it here) you have discovered that planting your flowers or vegetable garden in the proper dirt can save your plants from being devastated by bugs and can also make the difference between healthy and highly productive plants or having unhealthy, sickly plants.

One might be asking themselves, so how do I get this said dirt???

My response….easy!! Get yourself a pet rabbit or a couple of chickens!

bunny

One of our new baby bunnies 🙂

Chickens

2 of my hens running to see what the crazy farm lady has for them today 🙂

I am a micro farmer…there is no denying that! I believe everyone can grow at least some of their own food easily. Even if you live in city limits, I think everyone should have at least two pet hens and a bunny rabbit. You might ask, “Why?”

My response: Multiple reasons!

1. If you have pet chickens you will always have fresh eggs. They don’t cost much to feed. You can buy the store stuff or feed your fine feathered friends all natural foods. Chickens will eat almost anything!

2. Chickens and rabbits are VERY entertaining! Sit back and watch them a while….you will soon find I am correct!

3. Bunnies and chickens poop! Their poop is AWESOME fertilizer!

If you decide to take in a lonesome pet bunny or a few girlish hens (that will soon be your bff’s….I am afraid of birds and LOVE my hens!) you will see that if you collect the bunny poo or sift through where your hens scratch you will have great dirt to grow in and amazing fertilizer!

You will also need wood chips! Your chickens will LOVE to scratch around in them. You can get them from any tree service (usually free) and let them compost either over winter in your garden beds or in your chickens’ area. That is how we grow all of our veggies and flowers. And again, if you check out my post here you will find the picture of what type of difference a little chicken and/or bunny poo (with the help of plain wood chips) can make for your plants!

One thought on “The Right Dirt Makes All the Difference….Now How Do I Get It??

  1. Pingback: The Right Dirt Makes All the Difference….Now How Do I Get It?? | A Healthy Mix

Leave a Reply

