The Prayer is Key

photo cred:quotediary.me

Hey guys!!

I know I fell off the face of the blog world for the past few months. Something I failed to mention earlier on, but on top of being a homesteading mama I am also a full-time student as well. So this past semester required quite a bit of my attention so I had to take a blogging break. I just wanted to share a quick thought today and then I’ve got to run…life of a mama.

My thought is prayer:

I have really been struggling lately with our middle son. I am happy to say that he recently gave his life to the Lord and though that has made a huge difference in his attitude, he still has kid moments of complete stubbornness. This is hard to handle at times. Lately, it has just really been hard on me to handle because it seems NOTHING helps him to put his pride in check. So I have been crying out to the Lord for help. God knows my blood pressure has been on the rise a lot lately, and I hate when I let my children’s poor choices bring negative effects to me. As parents, especially mothers, we have a tendency to blame ourselves for everything our kids do. I think this is the wrong approach. We can’t take credit for their successes because that glory belongs to God. Nor can we take the burden for their failures because God is still God, and He has a plan….even for the poor decisions. God answered me this morning with a simple thought, prayer.

When my kids get stubborn instead of carrying the burden, go to my kids and pray with them, over them, about them….just PRAY! God can handle them and use me to do it. He will provide peace and strength if I would just take it to Him. Not 20 minutes after my blood pressure has hit the roof but NOW!! Our kids face a difficult world. More so than what we faced. They get pulled in 80 million directions and have TONS of pressure put on them. What better thing to do than pray!

A lot of times I think we forget how powerful prayer is. It isn’t “just praying.” We are taking our burdens to The Creator of the universe, The One who gave us salvation…..so it is not “just praying.” It is taking action for our children.

So I leave you with this:
1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (ESV) “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Leave a Reply

