Back to Canning: Where Do I Find The Food?

Hey guys!

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! I did! It was super relaxing, and I enjoyed a day of resting. However, I woke up this morning feeling a little (or A LOT) overwhelmed. My thoughts have just been running crazy on me: a never ending to-do list and not much motivation. So I started my day in the Bible, with lots of prayer, and a big dose of honesty with myself (that I’m being a control freak over nothing)….and sadly, didn’t feel much better. So I was sitting around feeling kind of mopey and it hit me, “When things feel overwhelming, you’ve done all you can do, then wait on God….and while you’re waiting, do what you know.” To me homesteading is what I know brings comfort and calm during times of chaos whether it be physically or mentally. I’m so happy when I’m in my backyard with my ducks and goat running around. My greenhouse and garden bring that same feeling. I feel at peace. Life is simple there. So I thought I’d go back to my canning post. It is a little too cold to be hanging outside with my goat today for very long so I’m going to my happy place while staying warm…LoL!

So these are my tips on finding the food to can:

1. Grow your own: Some think having a garden is so complicated. It is only as complicated as you make it I’m discovering. Compost and mulch are your best friend in gardening. We are currently practicing no-till gardening. Much easier, and you wouldn’t believe how a little compost and some free mulch can produce such bountiful harvests.

2. Mom and Pop Produce stands: I live in the foothills of NC. Roadside produce stands are EVERYWHERE. Word to the wise, know your pricing because a lot of these stands will make a killing off of you if you don’t. And always ask to see their #2s. You are canning the stuff not putting it on display. It doesn’t have to be pretty

3. Craig’s List: People sell produce all of the time on Craig’s List. Again, know your pricing.

4. Shop sales at grocery stores: Not ideal, but you will hit a killer sale every now and then. I did on corn last year!

5. Farmer’s Markets: I shop these quite a bit during spring and summer. Some have great deals. Others are waaay too expensive. Knowing your pricing is a huge benefit when you choose to shop for your canning produce.

I hope these tips will help you when canning season comes around. Spring is coming folks….better get ready!

Until next time…keep looking up!

Jen

Leave a Reply

