10366000_540323910464_2758519816209172809_n

 

This is my first blog post here on A Healthy Mix. I wanted to start this blog off by sharing why I am doing this. I view this blog as a type of ministry. Blogs reaching out and helping the struggling mother are many but it seems the people who choose to be parents get left out of that equation, and we need more help than anyone it feels like at times. I am married to a wonderful, loving man of almost 7 years. I became a stepmother when I married him because he had 2 children from a previous marriage. Later in our marriage, we had our own child who is a little redheaded rascal that is absolutely spoiled by his big brothers! However, over these past seven years the challenges have been many. We have faced the challenges of kids healing from their parent’s divorce, watching their parent’s in new relationships, gaining a stepmom, having a new baby brother, and then the blending of a family. Though the challenges are many in a blended family I want to point out that they are totally worth it.

Blended families are nothing new. They have been around since the early days of the Bible. I mean, Jesus had a stepfather! He was a stepson! Kind of odd to stop and think about it, but He was. A lot of times when I start to feel pressure about how I feel I should be doing and instead I’m struggling, I stop and think about Joseph. Could you imagine the immense pressure he felt? What an honor but also what a responsibility he was chosen for! When I reflect upon that I realize God doesn’t call those that are qualified; He qualifies the called. It doesn’t matter if you are brand new at this or if you have been a parent/step parent for years, God has your back! That is the important thing to remember with each passing day. Whether it be a great day where all the kids are happy or if it is a tough day where you hear those dreaded words shouted in anger at you, “I don’t have to listen to you because you aren’t my mom!” Oh sweet friend, I have been there! And I plan on sharing all of the victories and heartache God has been so faithful to bring me through!

So with that one quick thought, I close my first EVER blog post!! How exciting!!! I hope you all will come back and read my other snippets that the Lord has shined upon my heart, and I hope they help you as they have me!

Until then….keep looking up!

Jen

Leave a Reply

